Organisers for the upcoming Betway British Basketball All-Stars Championship at the O2 this Sunday have released the schedule for the first double elimination group games.

BBL Champions Leicester Riders will be getting the action under way as they face off against the Surrey Scorchers; match 2 sees BBL runner-up team Newcastle Eagles and Bristol Flyers do battle before Glasgow Rocks take on London Lions for Match 3. The final match of the elimination group will be between Sheffield Sharks and Worcester Wolves.

British All-stars Basketball 2017

The first round is a double elimination group which comprises of a total of ten matches, with the remaining six games being determined by the outcome of the first four.

Two straight wins will see a team qualify for the semi-finals, with the flip-side two defeats meaning elimination.

The remaining group games will see teams with one win and one defeat go head-to-head. Semi-finals will be drawn shortly after the group stage finishes.

All matches will last a total of 12 minutes with a 20-second shot clock. There will also be an all-star 5-point line for those who are willing to take the chance.

In addition to this will be a two-minute Power Play which sees any points scored during this doubled up.

“It will be really exciting, really fun with a brand-new format,” said London Lions captain Joe Ikhinmwin.

“All the best tournaments happen at The O2 and it is a great way to start the season.

“It’s a chance to shine a spotlight on British basketball in a different way. It is a 12-minute game, with rolling substitutions.

“It will be about who has momentum in the games, especially with the ability to hit the powerplay and have double points. That can turn a game around in just a couple of minutes.

“It means the tournament is completely open and any of the eight teams could win it”